Skip to content

I Do Not Have Writer’s Block… or Do I?

February 21, 2010

Really. I don’t. I know exactly what I want to write… That is until I sit down at the keyboard. That keyboard. The keys on my Vaio are worn. Shiny from lots of typing. You can take one look at my lovely laptop and see that I am not short on words. I have a comment for everything. As is also evident from my Twitter stream… over 5,000 tweets and counting. I must have something of worth to say, there are over 1,400 tweeters following me.

I’m not saying all of this to say that you should listen to me, follow me or be my pal on Facebook. I’m taking a page from some writers that I enjoy reading… I’m trying to get this procrastination out of my system!

Let’s see… Did I record the latest episode of House? It was a rerun. Is there an app for that on my new iPhone… maybe I should read the instructions. Does Lola have her flea pill for this month? Should I swing by Target on my way home? I really want a coke but there’s none in the fridge. I’m hungry, but I just ate. There’s some coffee ice cream, but it’s 10 am. I should have gone to church. I need to call my friend and take her back her dishes… I’ve had them since Christmas. Where did I leave my favorite flip flops?

Sounds frantic… it’s not. It’s my way of finding everything, anything else to do… when I should be sitting at the keyboard getting all of these thoughts out of my head and onto my hard drive.

So, you see, I do not have writer’s block. I’m just organizing my latest Theta Burst and getting ready to write.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 11:41 am

    So, now that I have one post down and two to go… I’m going to have a little ice cream!

  2. February 22, 2010 9:38 am

    what kind of ice cream did you have? I love ice cream.

Leave a Reply

